Urban Design Autumn School: Intensifying Margate

DSE // Kent Design & UCA Urban Design Autumn School 2017

Organised by Design South East (DSE) and UCA as part of the Kent Design programme, this year’s Urban Design Autumn School was based at the Turner Contemporary in Margate. Confronting development pressures across Kent the Autumn School explored how intensification could help to activate underused town centres and to reduce development pressure on the greenbelt. Tutored by leading urban design practitioners six interdisciplinary teams consisted of Design South East members from both, the public and the private sector as well as students on the MA Urban Design course at Canterbury School of Architecture. Using Margate as a test bed for ideas, participants developed proposals for the instigation and the integration of new programmes into the existing urban fabric.

A big THANK YOU goes to the team at the Turner Contemporary and to all participants and contributors for making the event such a success. We are looking forward to offering the third Urban Design Autumn School next year.

Gabor Stark
Course Leader MA Urban Design

DSE // Kent Design & UCA Urban Design Autumn School
21-22 September 2017
Turner Contemporary, Margate

Organised by DSE and UCA as part of the Kent Design programme
• DSE // Kent Design: Huw Trevorrow, David Tittle, Chris Lamb, Julie Payne, Sarah Brown
• UCA // CSA: Gabor Stark, CL MA Urban Design

Participants (affiliations)
• Ashford Borough Council
• bptw partnership
• CLTH Architecture
• Canterbury City Council
• David and Barratt Wilson Homes
• Dartford Borough Council
• Dover District Council
• Ebbsfleet Development Corporation
• Guy Hollaway Architects
• Horton Strategic Ltd
• Kent County Council
• Maidstone Borough Council
• Medway Council
• Shepway District Council
• Surrey Heath Borough Council
• Swale Borough Council
• Place Alliance
• Thanet District Council
• Tonbridge & Malling Borough Council
• Savills
• West Kent Housing Association
• UCA, MA Urban Design

• Scott Adams, HTA Design
• Jane Briginshaw, Jane Briginshaw Associates
• Corinna Dean, University of Westminster, Publica
• Wayne Head, Curl la Tourelle Head Architects
• Dieter Kleiner, RCKa
• Sebastian Loew, Urban Design Group
• Clare Mitchell, Cherwell Council
• Claire Perrott, Tibbalds
• Hilary Satchwell, Tibbalds
• Richard Simmons, The Bartlett School of Planning, URBED
• Gabor Stark, UCA Canterbury School of Architecture
• Richard Warwick, Orms

Speakers & Critics
• Mark Davy, Future City
• Nick Dermott, Thanet Borough Council
• Charles Holland, Charles Holland Architects
• Angela Koch, Imagine Places
• Keith Williams, Keith Williams Architects